History of the Connecticut Judicial Seal Home Home BannerBanner

Connecticut Bar Examining Committee
100 Washington Street,1stFloor
Hartford, Connecticut 06106-4411
Telephone: 860-706-5135
Hearing and speech-impaired applicants: 711 or 1-800-842-9710
E-mail the Bar Examining Committee
Office Hours: Monday-Friday  8:30am-4:30pm*
*except state holidays

Attorney Links

July 2019 Bar Exam Results star star

star star New Application Fees and Filing Deadlines. ( Article III-1 & Article X, CBEC Regulations ) star star

February 2020 Bar Examination Fees and Deadlines:

  • First filing deadline: $800 (Applications received October 1, 2019 October 31, 2019)
  • Final filing deadline: $900 (Applications received November 1, 2019 December 2, 2019)

star Computer-Based Testing
star Important Regulation Changes Effective July 15, 2019 - PDF
star Important Regulation Changes Effective January 6, 2020 - PDF

The Connecticut Bar Examining Committee was established in 1891. Practice Book Rule 2-3 provides for a Committee of twenty-four members charged with the responsibility of determining whether candidates are qualified to be admitted to the Connecticut bar. The Committee prepares and administers the bar examination and investigates the character and fitness of each candidate for admission. The Committee recommends to the court those who have passed the bar examination, possess good moral character, and have complied with the rules of court and the regulations of the Committee governing admission to the bar.
Exam dates Exam site Results date
30/31 July 2019 CT Convention Center in Hartford 27 September 2019
25/26 February 2020 CT Convention Center in Hartford 24 April 2020
28/29 July 2020 CT Convention Center in Hartford TBA
23/24 February 2021 CT Convention Center in Hartford TBA
27/28 July 2021 CT Convention Center in Hartford TBA
22/23 February 2022 CT Convention Center in Hartford TBA
26/27 July 2022 CT Convention Center in Hartford TBA

Bar Examining Committee Officers and Members

Hon. Anne C. Dranginis, Chair, Litchfield (Ret.)
Denise Martino Phelan, Vice Chair, Hartford
Matthew Wax-Krell, Treasurer, Hartford
Karen L. Karpie, Secretary, Bridgeport
Raymond L. Baribeault, Jr., New London
Deborah L. Bradley, Rocky Hill
Kevin C. Connors, Willimantic
Erick I. Diaz, Farmington
Hon. Nina Elgo, Hartford
Edward J. Gavin, Bridgeport
Eric M. Gross, Bridgeport
Hon. C. Ian McLachlan, Hartford (Ret.)
Gail McTaggart, Waterbury
David A. Moraghan, Torrington
Sharon A. Peters, Portland
Timothy P. Pothin, New Haven
Amir Shaikh, Vernon
Robert D. Silva, Hartford
Alix Simonetti, New Haven
Hon. Elliot N. Solomon, Hartford
Martha S. Triplett, Wallingford
Frederic S. Ury, Fairfield
Abby M. Warren, Hartford
Perry Zinn-Rowthorn, Hartford

Administrative Office

Kathleen B. Harrington, Deputy Director, Attorney Services Jessica F. Kallipolites, Administrative Director
Lisa Valko, Program Manager

CBEC Site Map


Connecticut Judicial Branch Website Links:

Attorneys | Case Look-up | Courts | Directories | Educational Resources | E-Services | Español | FAQs | Juror Information | Media | Opinions | Opportunities | Self-Help | Home

Common Legal Words | Contact Us | Site Map | Website Policies and Disclaimers

Copyright © 2016, State of Connecticut Judicial Branch